Roll Of Honour

Army Decoration

Mahavir Chakra

Total No. 1

Shri Ram Krishna Wadhwa, 31 Bn, 1972, Posthumously

The Border Security Force picquet at Raja Mohtam near Mamdot on the western front had been occupied by the enemy on 5 December 1971. Shri R.K. Wadhwa, Assist. Commandant was assigned the task of recapturing it. He led his troops gallantly through heavily mined area and under intense and accurate fire.

His courage and personal example inspired his men to close in with the enemy and capture the objective. Later when he was counter-attacked, he showed exemplary courage and utter disregard for his personal safety in going from trench to trench encouraging his men in repulsing the enemy. However, while moving under heavy fire, he was mortally wounded by enemy shelling and succumbed to his injuries.

In this action Assistant Commandant Ram Krishna Wadhwa displayed exemplary courage, leadership and indomitable spirit and devotion to duty of a very high order.

Param Vishisht Seva Medal

Total No. 1

Sh Golak Majumdar, IPS    IG BSF    WB   1972

Shri Golak Majumdar, IPS, Inspector General, Eastern Frontier of BSF was awarded PVSM for distinguished service of the most exceptional order. Also, The Bangladesh government recognized his contribution to the Bangladesh Liberation Struggle and awarded him with the Friends of Bangladesh Liberation War Award on 27th March 2012.

During Bangladesh Liberation struggle, He made contact with the most senior leaders of the Awami League party – Tajuddin Ahmad and Amirul Islam who had survived the massacres after launch of ‘Operation Search Light’ (a genocidal campaign was launched by the Pakistani Army in East Pakistan) and welcomed them at an Indian Border Out Post (BOP) on 27th March 1971 and taken them to Kolkata.

He was instrumental in security and secrecy of Oath taking ceremony of First Bangladesh Government at Meherpur inside Bangladesh on 17th April 1971. He also established preliminary contact with Hussain Ali, the Deputy High Commissioner of Pakistan in Kolkata to defect to Bangladesh. 0n 18th April 1971. He ensured security of Bangladesh's top leaders and their families in India during the war. He coordinated the ground level operations done by the Mukti Bahini.

Kirti Chakra

Total No. 4
Sl No Name Rank Unit Year
1 Sh Zuheto Comdt 111 BN 1975
2 Sh V P Purohit Comdt 171 BN 2003
3 Sh C Stanly Const 10 BN 2004
4 Sh N N D Dubey 2IC 61 BN 2004

Ati Vishisht Seva Medal

1       Brig Joginder Singh Sidhu    DIG    Bandipur   1972


Total No. 13


Total No. 13

Vishisht Seva Medal

Total No. 12

Civil Decoration

Padma Vibhushan

Total No. 1

Shri K F Rustamji, IP DG BSF 1991

Shri K F Rustamji was born in Kamptee 22 May 1916. Sh K F Rustamji topped the competitive examination for selection to the prestigious service the Indian Police also referred to as the Imperial Police in 1938.

In 1965, Sh K F Rustamji was selected to raise the Border Security Force. By the time he retired the BSF had a strength of 60,000 men. The BSF played a significant part in the Indo-Pak War of 1971 and in the Liberation of Bangladesh. After retirement from the BSF, he was made Special Secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs and while in that position, he headed a committee which submitted the report for the formation of the Indian Coast Guard, an organization to patrol the maritime border.

He was responsible for the setting up of the National Police Commission and later became its member from 1978 to 1983. In 1978, he visited the jails in Bihar and wrote about the conditions of the undertrials languishing in the jails for long periods without a trial.

Padma Bhushan

1       Sh K F Rustamji, IP DG BSF 1972
2    Sh Ashwani Kumar,IP IG BSF 1972

Padma Shri

Total No. 7
Sl No Name Rank Year
1 Brig Bhuwan Chand IG BSF 1972
2 Shri P R Raj IG(G) 1972
3 Shri Chamanl DIG 1988
4 Shri Prakash ADG 1991
5 Shri A K Pat IG 1991
6 Dr L. C Gupta Dir(Med) IG BSF 2010
7 Shri Love R Dharmshaktu AC 2014

Arjun Award

Total No. 17

National Adventure Awardees

Total No. 2
Sl No Rank Name Event
1 AC Sh Loveraj Singh Mountain
2 ASI Kamlesh Kumar Mountain

Uttam Jeevan Rakshak Padak

1       111989597    Ct    Imran Khan    45 BN    2015    Posthu

Jeevan Rakshak Padak

Total No. 4
Sl No Rank Name Unit
1 Ct Sh Satender Singh 25 BN
2 HC Late Mohinder Singh 24 BN
3 Ct Late Narendra Singh 106 NDRF
4 Ct Daljeet Singh 12 BN

Police Medals

President Police Medal for Gallantry

Total No. 182

Police Medal for Gallantry

Total No. 1004

President Police Medal for Distinguished

Total No. 307

Police Medal for Meritorious

Total No. 2872

UN Medal

Total No. 2
Sl No Rank Name Unit
1 DC Late Satish Chandra Menon SHQ CI Ops-I
2 HC Late Khetpal Singh 130 BN

Our Other Websites ....

You are Visitor No. under Maintenence